Book Boyfriends

Book Boyfriend: Kaz Brekker

It’s been said before and I’ll say it again: nerds have a very unrealistically high standard in guys thanks to fictional boyfriends.

Kaz Brekker may not be the standard-issue book boyfriend, but hey, we love him anyway.

Appears in: Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Why I love Kaz:

Okay, first off, Kaz is not the standard boyfriend. In fact, he’d like to think he’s the complete opposite. As the Bastard of the Barrel, Kaz “Dirtyhands” Brekker has made a reputation for himself. He’s a ruthless, conniving gang boss and he doesn’t take crap from anybody. He likes to win but doesn’t mind playing fair.

kaz_brekker_by_merwild-daq56zi
Art by Merwild

 

Kaz is not a good guy. Or so he thinks.

The truth is, Kaz is one scarred human being. But as hard as he tries to deny it, there’s still a small piece of him that’s unmarred by cynicism. The truth is Kaz cares about the people around him. It might be a select few people, but Kaz does care about his friends. He could deny it but I think he wants to be better for Inej, too. To deserve her, somehow.

What I love about Kaz is that he’s complicated. There are so many facets of him that you’d want to discover and I think Leigh Bardugo did a damn fine job with Kaz Brekker.

Not the usual book boyfriend fare, but we’ll take him any day.

Have you read the Six of Crows Duology? What did you think? 🙂

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Book Boyfriend: Kaz Brekker”

  1. Cool post! Yes!! I totally agree; I love Kaz even though I didn’t at first. I just finished Crooked Kingdom a few days ago and I’m still blown away, procrastinating on reviewing because I’m tempted to write “PERFECTION” over and over and over until everyone reads this duology! 😅

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment